Blog Tours · Reviews

#BlogTour #BookReview Summer at the Kindness Café by Victoria Walters (@Vicky_Walters) @TeamBATC @annecater #SummerAtTheKindnessCafe #RandomThingsTours

It’s a pleasure to be hosting a stop on the blog tour for Summer at the Kindness Café by Victoria Walters today. Thank you Anne Cater at Random Things Tours for allowing me to jump on board and the team at Books and the City for my copy which I read in exchange for my honest thoughts.

Firstly, a little bit about the book

Djmnn3qX4AAzY_t

Escape to the beautiful town of Littlewood with this heart-warming read, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Holly Hepburn and Jo Thomas.

Welcome to Brew, a cafe where kindness is almost as important as coffee… almost!

Abbie has fled London and the humiliation of not being able to make rent after being made redundant. Her sister, Louise, unlucky in love, has thrown herself into her career at the local hospital. And Eszter, who has travelled from Hungary with her daughter Zoe, is hoping to fulfil her husband’s dying wish: to reunite his family.

This summer, three very different women are inspired by the random acts of kindness written up on the Kindness Board at Brew, and decide to make a pact to be kinder to others and to themselves.

Can a little bit of kindness really change your life? Eszter, Abbie and Louise are about to find out!

**Summer at the Kindness Cafe was previously published as a four-part serial titled Random Acts of Kindness. This is the complete story in one package.**

Summer at the Kindness Café is published by Simon & Schuster and is available to buy now in ebook and from 13th June 2019 in paperback.

AmazonUK|Waterstones|BookDepository

My thoughts

I feel like I waited an incredibly long time to read Summer at the Kindness Café; I was intrigued when it was released in it’s four part Random Acts of Kindness series, but I’m a devour-a-book-whole kind of person, so hung on for the full thing – then when the opportunity arose to grab a place on the blog tour, I jumped at the chance!

Summer at the Kindness Café follows 3 women, Abbie, Louise and Eszter who all have in common that they’re struggling with heartache and loss and have all come to the fictional town of Littlewood to either escape, make amends, or begin again…

Also in the town is a little café called Brew, but nothing inside it is little, it’s full of big heart and kindness from the moment you step inside and it’s owners ethos is to remind people of the goodness within each other with their kindness board – which is quite simply where one act of kindness will hopefully have the person on the receiving end want to repay the gesture to someone else…

I really enjoyed my time in Littlewood with these 3 women, who are all so easy to love and engage with. They all have their past individual stories going on, but alongside that there’s heart-warming new found friendships and bonds forming which gives them the kick and courage to start new lives.

Whilst the uplifting feels of friendship, community and romance is what we expect to find in this genre of books, it’s really the kindness aspect of this story which Walters has created that really gives it that edge and shines through from beginning to end.

I really loved the concept of the kindness board and I certainly think Summer at the Kindness Café is a strong reminder to us all that kindness is one of the few things that is free in this world, yet it’s something that can make such a huge difference in a person’s life; even just the smallest ‘hello’. There’s no barriers to an act of kindness, it’s something we can all do in our day to day life and I think the inspiration behind this novel could go along way to people implementing their own takes on the kindness board.

Summer at the Kindness Café is a sure fire way to brighten up the most miserable of days. Uplifting, motivational, feel-good fiction – why not go ahead and try your own act of kindness…

About the author

I3Ivni2y_400x400

Victoria Walters was discovered in a short story competition run by Simon & Schuster’s The Hot Bed. Her first novel, The Second Love of my Life was published by Headline, and she returns to the fold with Summer at the Kindness Café, her second novel.

You can find Victoria over on… Website|Twitter

Thank you for taking the time to read my review. As always, a little like or share to spread the word is always most appreciated. Do catch my fellow bloggers thoughts on the remainder of the Summer at the Kindness Café blog tour…

61094031_10161803199690537_359839700157988864_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s